Get your free website from Spanglefish

History of ACPEM

For information about cookies see cookie policy

This association was formed in April 1997 by chartered physiotherapists interested in exploring the wide range of Bioenergy Therapies and the underlying concepts and practices of Energy Medicine.

Feb 1996: Buxton, The British Healing Energy Therapy Association (BHETA) was founded by Steve Gibbs.

Oct 1997: BHETA divided into a privately directed training and research organisation, now forming the Healing Energy Therapy Academy Ltd. (HETA) with Steve Gibbs as Director.

April 1998: The remainder of the group met at the CSP headquarters, London, to reorganise itself into a formal Association of Chartered Physiotherapists in Bioenergy Therapies (ACPBET) whose remit was one of inquiry.

Sept 1998: ACPBET received official recognition by the CSP UK as a designated Clinical Interest Group (CIG) within the Society.

April 2001: the title was changed from Bioenergy Therapies to Energy Medicine, (ACPEM) a term commonly used to describe the types of therapies used by our members in addition to the underpinning philosophy.


Click for Map
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement